Three Retirement Board Seats Up for Election in 2022

In spring 2022, STRS Ohio will hold an election for two contributing member seats and one retired teacher member seat on the State Teachers Retirement Board. Robert McFee and Jeffrey Rhodes currently hold the contributing member seats while Rita Walters holds the retired teacher member seat.

Those eligible for nomination for the contributing member seats are individuals presently contributing to STRS Ohio, those who have contributions on deposit with STRS Ohio and disability benefit recipients. Those eligible for nomination for the retired teacher member seat are Ohio residents who are current service retirement benefit recipients, including disability benefit recipients who have converted to service retirement under the Defined Benefit Plan. By law, STRS Ohio retirees employed in a position requiring them to make contributions to the system (commonly referred to as "reemployed retirees") are ineligible to serve as a member of the board.

Individuals interested in running for these seats can request petitions from STRS Ohio beginning on Nov. 1, 2021, by calling toll-free 888‑227‑7877. The deadline for returning petitions is Feb. 25, 2022. STRS Ohio members will receive their ballots and voting information in April; they will have through May 2 to cast their vote. The winners of the election will begin their four-year terms on the board on Sept. 1, 2022. Board members are not compensated for board service other than reimbursement for actual, necessary expenses.