Retirement Board Seat Elections

Photo of Board Room

Beginning April 1, 2022, ballots, candidate information and voting instructions were mailed to all STRS Ohio members and benefit recipients eligible to vote in the 2022 Retirement Board election.

Four candidates qualified for the two contributing member seats. Those candidates are Steven Foreman, Robert A. McFee, Jeffrey Rhodes and Julie Sellers. Those eligible to vote for the contributing member seat include STRS Ohio contributing members (except for reemployed retirees), individuals who have contributions on deposit with STRS Ohio and disability benefit recipients.

Two candidates qualified for the election of the retired member seat. Those candidates are Elizabeth Jones and Rita J. Walters. Those eligible to vote for the retired member seats include all retired members of the system (including reemployed retirees).

STRS Ohio is using Election Services Co. to conduct the election. Members will have three ways to vote — by mail, through a toll-free phone number or via a special Internet site. Each eligible voter is assigned a distinct EVN (electronic validation number) that prevents duplicate voting. Members are encouraged to vote by phone or online, as this results in a cost savings to STRS Ohio. For every completed mail ballot returned to STRS Ohio, the pension system has to pay for the return postage. Phone and online votes avoid this extra postage expense for the pension system.

Any STRS Ohio members who believe they are eligible to vote, and do not receive a ballot package by April 8, should call the Election Services Co. customer service line toll-free at 866‑720‑4357 or send an email to [email protected]. The customer service center is open 9 a.m.–5 p.m., EDT. The deadline for voting is 4:30 p.m., EDT, on May 2. Results of the election will be posted on the STRS Ohio website following the presentation of the results on May 7. The four-year term for these seats begins on Sept. 1, 2022.