State Teachers Retirement Board Vacancies

Photo of Board room.

Two Retirement Board contributing (active) member seats were vacated in June. First, Dale Price retired. Once an active board member retires, they can no longer fill a contributing member seat. Second, Steven Foreman resigned, citing retirement as the reason.

The board is required to follow a process outlined under Ohio law (R.C. 3307.06 and Administrative Code Rule 3307-2-02) to nominate and elect a successor contributing member.  

Regarding the seat vacated by Dale Price, the board may fill the seat in August, following the process outlined below. But Michelle Flanigan assumes the seat Sept. 1, 2024. 

The seat vacated by Steven Foreman will be filled following this process:

  • Each board member may nominate one eligible contributing member of the system for consideration of election to the vacancy.
  • Board members have 45 days from notice of the vacancy to make a nomination.
  • At either the August or September 2024 meeting, the board will elect a new contributing member through successive public votes in which the nominee receiving the lowest number of votes shall be dropped from the list. The nominee with the majority of votes shall be elected and will serve through Aug. 31, 2025.  An election will be held for this seat in Spring 2025. The nominee elected by the board in August/September to fill Steven Foreman’s seat will need to successfully run for the seat in Spring 2025 for a four-year term of Sept. 1, 2025–Aug. 31, 2029.

Composition of the Retirement Board

STRS Ohio is governed by a Retirement Board consisting of five elected contributing teacher members, two elected retired teacher members, an investment expert appointed by the governor, an investment expert appointed jointly by the speaker of the House and the Senate president, an investment expert designated by the treasurer of state, and the director of the Department of Education and Workforce or their designated investment expert.